Review: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars

IMG_4976.JPG

Set 20 years after To Kill a Mockingbird, Go Set a Watchman follows Jean Louis#e (Scout) Finch as she returns home to Maycomb from New York City to visit her ageing father, Atticus. Whilst back home, Jean Louise comes to realise that Maycomb is not as she remembers it; the town has changed, and so have the people who live there.

Even though I’ve only read To Kill a Mockingbird once, it is without a doubt one of my favourite books, and multiple quotes from the book have stuck with me since. So when I heard that Go Set a Watchman was going to be released, I had really high hopes for it. I wouldn’t say that this book disappointed me, as I did really enjoy it, and Lee’s writing is brilliant. But I didn’t love it as much as I loved To Kill a Mockingbird, which is how I think many people feel about it.

I would still recommend it to everyone; Lee develops further the themes she explored previously, and her writing is very accessible. Ultimately this book did make me think a lot about the parallels between our society today and that of the South in the 1950’s, and as Harper Lee herself says, “The book to read is not the one that thinks for you, but the one which makes you think”.

One thought on “Review: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

Leave a Reply

