July Wrap Up

After reading only one book in June, I’m really pleased with my July reading; I managed to read six books this month. I didn’t enjoy everything I read this month, but I’d still like to share with you my thoughts on what I read.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars

IMG_5001.JPG

I actually started this in the middle of June; I took it with me whilst I was on my Trek America trip, but I just didn’t have time to read on the trip, apart from when I was on the plane. This book was beautifully written, but I didn’t connect to it that much, and having read The Book Thief at the beginning of the year, and loving that, this just didn’t really compare. I would like to re-read it in the future though, to see if my opinion changed.

Entombed in Alcatraz by Robert Victor Luke
My Goodreads rating – 4 out of 5 stars

IMG_5002.JPG

I visited Alcatraz Island in June, and I loved it. I knew I wanted to buy a book there, and in the gift shop I saw that Robert Victor Luke, who was an inmate at Alcatraz, was signing copies of his book, so I couldn’t resist buying a copy.

IMG_4981

I really enjoyed reading about Robert’s time on Alcatraz and how it made him turn his life around. It isn’t written perfectly, as it was self-published, and Robert wrote it at 84 years of age, but it’s still an amazing autobiography.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
My Goodreads rating – 1 out of 5 stars

IMG_5003.JPG

I’ve barely read any dystopian, and I think this book showed me why. I just hated it. I just don’t think dystopian is my kind of genre unless I can fully believe it, like in The Handmaids Tale.

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce
My Goodreads rating – 1 out of 5 stars

IMG_5004.JPG

This was the second book of the month that I just hated. I know it’s a classic, and I can appreciate that, but I didn’t enjoy the plot, the writing, and didn’t really find any of the themes that interesting. I do, however, think that this would be an interesting read for anyone interested in art.

Girl Up by Laura Bates
My Goodreads rating – 5 out of 5 stars
My full review

IMG_5005.JPG

I cannot praise this book enough; it’s been around 2 weeks since I’ve finished it and I can’t stop thinking about it. It’s definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year by far and I will definitely be re-reading it.

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars
My full review

IMG_4976

I did really enjoy this book, but I wasn’t completely blown away by it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good book, and I love Harper Lee’s writing, but I just can’t help to compare it to To Kill a Mockingbird, which left much more of an impact on me.

Let me know in the comments what you read this month, and what you’re planning to read in August 🙂

Leave a Reply

