A Harry Potter Chat

With the recent release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, it seems the perfect opportunity for me to discuss my love for the Harry Potter franchise. This post is partly inspired by Ashleigh’s post over on A Frolic Through Fiction, which you can read here.

As I was only 4 when the first Harry Potter film was released, I didn’t start watching the series until I was a bit older. I remember distinctively borrowing the first three films from my cousin, falling in love with the wizarding world, and then going to see Goblet of Fire in the cinema. I then watched every later film in cinemas without fail, so I have such a strong love for all of the films, as they remind me so much of my childhood.

The books, on the other hand, I didn’t read until much later; not until I was 17. Even though I loved reading as a child, reading the Harry Potter series didn’t appeal to me at all. I think it was because I had already seen the first three films before I realised that they were books, and then the size of the latter completely put me off, as I’d never read anything more than around 200 pages. But then after visiting the Wizarding the World of Harry Potter in Orlando when I was 16, I decided to buy the box set of the books. I was reminded of my love for the series, and wanted to re-live the story in a new way.

It took me around 3 months to read the whole series, I let myself take my time, and I absolutely loved every single book. I adore the films, as they remind me so much of my childhood, but reading the books brought the wizarding world to life in a way the films couldn’t. J.K. Rowling’s writing is just brilliant; her descriptions of Hogwarts are my favourite parts of the books and I know I’ll never tired of re-reading them.

Have you read the Harry Potter series, or have you only seen the films? Will you be reading Cursed Child, or do you think it’s an unnecessary addition to the series? Comment and let me know 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Harry Potter Chat

Leave a Reply

