Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, & Jack Thorne

My Goodreads rating – 2 out of 5 stars (rating changed: original rating – 3 out of 5 stars)

NOTE – even though this review is spoiler free, it does contain spoilers for the rest of the Harry Potter series, for both the books and the films.

With this being one of the most anticipated releases of the year, a summary probably isn’t even needed, but I thought I’d write a quick one before I get into my review:

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the 8th story in the Harry Potter series, but not the 8th book. This addition to the series is a script, and the play is currently being performed in London’s west end. Set 19 years after the Deathly Hallows, Harry Potter is now working at the Ministry of Magic and has three children. His youngest son, Albus, is studying at Hogwarts, and is struggling with the pressure of being Harry Potter’s son.

I firstly want to say that I have no issue with the fact that this is a script. I’ve seen alot of reviews that have completely slammed Cursed Child, and they all seem to have one thing in common; people don’t like that they’re reading a script and not a book. Yes, I’ll admit, I did miss J. K. Rowling’s descriptions, but the fact that it’s a play shouldn’t affect the judgement of the story as a whole. I am sad to say that I didn’t enjoy the story that much, but that has nothing to do with the fact that it’s a script. A few parts of the story just didn’t seem believeable, and the overall plot itself was not original at all; I’ve seen it in multiple films, and it just felt like it was recycled but as a Harry Potter version.

I also had some issues with the characters, mainly with Ron. Ron didn’t feel like Ron at all, he was a bit of a joke really. He wasn’t just comic relief, but he was made out to be stupid. It actually made me sad to read his lines, as Ron is one of my favourite characters in the series. Also, there were a few times were Harry said/did things that he would never do in a million years. I did, however, really love Scorpious Malfoy; in some ways he reminded me of Neville Longbottom, he was so kind.

It may seem like I hated Cursed Child, but I didn’t. I did enjoy reading it, despite it’s issues. I loved being back in the Harry Potter world, and I would definately reccomend it to all fans of the Harry Potter series, but I don’t think I actually gained anything from reading it. I think it would be better to watch as a play, as I think the special effects and the actors would make it so much more magical.

Have you read Cursed Child? What did you think of it? If you haven’t read it, do you plan too? Comment below and let me know πŸ™‚

One thought on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

