Top Ten Tuesday – Books to Compliment a History Lesson

I’ve never written a Top Ten Tuesday post before, but this weeks list really inspired me. This week is “Back to School Freebie”; anything back to school related. Out of the suggested lists, I’ve decided to go with “Books to Compliment a History Lesson”. I know this post is nearly two days late, but historical fiction is one of my favourite genres, so I thought it would be fun to share with you a few books that I’ve enjoyed that have taught me a lot about different historical periods.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and The Bookish. Every Tuesday, a new list is posted, and other book bloggers are invited to post their top ten books that correspond to that list. You can find out more about Top Ten Tuesday here.

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Nazi Germany
  2. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck – The Great Depression
  3. Hetty Feather by Jacqueline Wilson – Victorian England
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – 1930’s USA
  5. Good Night, Mr. Tom by Michelle Magorian – World War Two
  6. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – World War Two
  7. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – The French Revolution
  8. Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally – The Holocaust
  9. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – 1920’s USA/Prohibition Era
  10. The Help by Kathryn Stockett – 1960’s USA

There are also other books that I am yet to read that I’m sure would be great to compliment a history lesson. Just some of those are listed below:

  1. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens – Victorian England
  2. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – The Holocaust
  3. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque – World War One
  4. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne – The Holocaust
  5. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys – The Wilhelm Gustloff disaster

Let me know what you would add to the list, and if you’ve written a Top Ten Tuesday, feel free to link it in the comments 🙂

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books to Compliment a History Lesson

  1. notsomoderngirl says:

    These are great choices! I still haven’t read The Help but I’ve watched the film and it’s amazing! Have you seen the film version of it? I also really want to watch the Great Gatsby film, I read the book last year for school and really liked it. I would also probably add The Secret Life of Bees to my list, which is also set at a similar time to The Help!

    Like

  2. ellamariereads says:

    Thank you! 🙂 I’ve seen The Help and I thought they adapted it really well; it’s very true to the book, so if you loved the film I’m sure you’d really like the film. I’ll have to check out The Secret Life of Bees 🙂

    Like

  3. Mariska @ ReadWriteSleep says:

    I agree with all of those books- most of them are also movies (or should be ;)) which is cool. Historical fiction is also one of my favorite genres 🙂 specifically Ruta Sepetys who never ceases to amaze me with her writing. These are all going on my TBR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

