August Wrap Up

I feel like August was a bit of a so-so reading month for me. I only read four books, which, I know, is quite a lot, but I feel like I could’ve read more. Anyway, here’s what I read this month:

The Waves by Virginia Woolf
My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars
My full review

IMG_5128.JPG

 

This was my first time reading Virginia Woolf’s work, and whilst I thought her writing was beautiful, I’m not sure whether this was the best book of hers for me to read first. The Waves is described as one of her most experimental novels, as it is written as a stream of consciousness, so it took a bit of effort to get through. I still enjoyed it though, and I’d definitely like to read more of her work in the future,ย but I wouldn’t recommend it as a first read.

 

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
My Goodreads rating – 5 out of 5 stars
My full review

IMG_5126

 

I only read this for the first time last year, but I feel like I gained so much from my re-read. This is such a moving novel, and Plath’s writing in stunning. I would highly recommend this to anyone, especially those who are maybe interested in reading classics, but don’t know where to start, as Plath’s writing is really accessible.

 

 

 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne
My Goodreads rating – 2 out of 5 stars (rating changed: original rating – 3 out of 5 stars)
My full review

IMG_5129

This was probably the most anticipated release of the year, and probably the most mixed received. I really enjoyed reading it, as I loved returning to the Harry Potter world, but the actual plot was so flawed and far fetched, and I had a few issues with some of the characters. I’m glad I read it though, and I’d still recommend it to fans of the Harry Potter series. I’d also like to watch it in London, if I had the chance, as I’d love to see how they did the magic on stage.

 

Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally
My Goodreads rating – 4 out of 5 stars
My full review

IMG_5125

 

I didn’t know much about Oskar Schindler before I read this book, but his story is incredible. I loved how Thomas Keneally didn’t shy away from the fact that Schindler himself was in no way a saint, but that he was still an amazing man for saving the lives of his Jewish workers.

 

Let me know if the comments if you’ve read any of these books, and what you thought of them. If not, let me know if you read any great books this month ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

