Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn
My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars

img_5236

The Grownup is a thriller written by Gillian Flynn, author of the bestselling novel Gone Girl. In this short story, our narrator is a bored young woman who works as a fake psychic and a sex worker. When she is approached by Susan, a woman who claims that her house is inhabiting a dangerous spirit that is possessing her stepson, Michael, she sees it as an opportunity to make a fast buck. But after visiting the house and meeting Michael, she begins to fear her own safety as she questions whether there is in fact a dangerous spirit living in the house.

Having read Gone Girl about two years ago and loving it, I knew I wanted to read more of Gillian Flynn’s work at some point. I was recently going to buy either Dark Places or Sharp Objects, but I couldn’t decide between the two. So when I found out that she had released The Grownup, I decided to order that instead, as it was only £1.99 on Amazon, and I’d read a few good reviews on Goodreads.

The first sentence of this book immediately reminded me of Gone Girl. The narrator says “I didn’t stop giving hand jobs because I wasn’t good at it. I stopped giving hand jobs because I was the best at it.” Flynn’s writing may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it definitely grabs your attention, and I was hooked by the opening. But I didn’t feel that gripped reading the rest of the story. I still read it in one sitting, as it’s only around 60 pages, but I wasn’t dying to find out what happened, unlike I was with Gone Girl. I still enjoyed reading The Grownup, but I thought I was going to enjoy it a lot more. I also read on Goodreads that a lot of people thought the ending was a bit flat, which I completely agree with; it was a bit of a let down.

None the less, I’d still recommend The Grownup; it only took me about 45 minutes to read, and you can buy it most places for under £3, so it’s worth a read. However, if you’ve read any of her other novels, you may be a tad disappointed with The Grownup.

Have you read The Grownup? What did you think of it? If not, have you read any of Gillian Flynn’s other books? If you’ve read both Dark Places and Sharp Objects, I’d love to know which one of the two you’d recommend I read first! 🙂

One thought on “Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

