Review: I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb

I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb
My Goodreads rating – 5 out of 5 stars

img_5242

I Am Malala is the story of Malala Yousafzai, a young woman from Swat Valley, Pakistan.

Malala always loved going to school, and believed that girls should have an equal right to education as boys. So when the Taliban took over Swat valley, and declared that girls were to no longer go to school, Malala and her friends continued to go. Her determination to continue her education and her opinions lead her to be a target for the Taliban, and on the 9th of October, 2012, when she was just fifteen years old, a member of the Taliban shot Malala in the head when she was travelling home from school. In her autobiography, Malala talks about her life in Swat Valley before and during the Taliban’s occupation, and how her life has changed since the day she was shot.

I knew of Malala’s story, and I’ve admired her for a while, so when Jean Menzies announced that I Am Malala would be the September read for The Feminist Orchestra Bookclub, I couldn’t wait to read it, and I’m so glad I did. It really opened my eyes to the issues that women are currently facing in Pakistan, and, as Malala says herself, the importance of offering equal education to every girl and every boy. Towards to end of the book, Malala mentions her speech at the UN (which you can watch here), and how she pleaded with the world’s leaders to provide free education to every child in the world. She says:

Let us pick up our books and our pens, they are our most powerful weapons. One child, one teacher, one book and one pen can change the world.

Malala is such an inspiring young woman, and reading her story makes me value and appreciate my education so much more. I just hope that one day there will be no need to fight for education; that it will be a given for every child in the world. I cannot recommend this book enough. I would urge everyone to read it.

You can watch Jean’s discussion video of I Am Malala here.

If you’ve read I Am Malala, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

3 thoughts on “Review: I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb

Leave a Reply

