Recommended Halloween Reads

I never really did a lot for Halloween when I was little, and I still don’t now, but in the days leading up to Halloween, I love watching a couple of scary films, and I always try to read a book with a Halloween-type feel. So, since Halloween is a only a few days away, I thought I’d recommend a few of my favourite books to read around Halloween.

  • The Shining by Stephen King – I read this a few years ago, and it had me gripped. This is definitely a cult classic, both the film and the movie; “HERE’S JOHNNY!” comes to mind. It centers around Jack Torance and his family, and their horrifying stay at the Overlook Hotel.
  • Carrie by Stephen King – Another Stephen King, and definitely one my favourites on this list. The story’s iconic, and I find myself reaching for Carrie every October. It tells the story of Carrie, a young girl who discovers that she has telekinetic powers, and evokes terror on her prom night.
  • The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris – More of a thriller than a horror, this book was definitely chilling, and a bit disturbing. With a plot that involves serial killer Buffalo Bill and Hannibal “The Cannibal” Lecter, this is a perfect read for Halloween.
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver – Another thriller, this is written from the point of view of Kevin’s mother, as she tried to figure out what caused her son to murder his father, sister and fellow classmates.
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – Another favourite on this list, Gone Girl is the ultimate thriller; it’s gripping, full of twists and turns and has one or two horrific scenes. I’d highly recommend both the film and the book.
  • The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides – Whilst this isn’t a thriller or a horror, this still has a creepy feel to it. As the title suggests, this book centers around the suicides of the five Lisbon girls, making it very appropriate for Halloween.
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily BrontΓ« – Now I’m personally not a huge fan of this book, but I did read it around Halloween, and it’s definitely fitting for Halloween. After all, it’s often described as being a tale of “demonic” love.
  • The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter – This short story collection is quite horrific in some places (think necrophilia and a chamber full of bodies), but it’s brilliant. If you like the truly grim, this is one for you.
  • The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling – These are by no means scary books, but, again, have quite a Halloween feel to them; I’d particularly suggest Chamber of Secrets and Prisoner of Askaban to read around Halloween.

So they’re all of my recommendations for Halloween! I’d love to hear what you’re planning on reading this Halloween, and if you have any recommendations for scary/creepy books. Also, since a lot of the books I’ve mentioned have been adapted into films, what’s your favourite scary movie?

Have a happy Halloween!

2 thoughts on “Recommended Halloween Reads

Leave a Reply

