Christmas Book Haul

Hiya!

Over the past two months or so, I decided to take a break from my blog.I started studying English Literature at Uni back in September,  and I found my blog became a bit like work. Bug after taking a break from writing posts, I found myself missing it. So I’m back! 🙂

As I’ve been away for a while, I wanted to do a post other than a review or a wrap-up, which I normally do. So I thought I’d share with you the books I got for Christmas. Most of these books I asked for, but a few of them were surprises.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne – I love historical fiction, particularly books set during World War 2. I never really fancied this book, as I’d seen the film a few times so was aware of the jist of the story, and most importantly of the ending. But in one of Amy’s (from Shoutame) wrap-ups, I saw that she had read it, despite already seeing the film, and she said she really enjoyed it (you can visit Amy’s blog here and her YouTube channel here). So I thought I’d ask for this one. I know it’ll be a tough read, but I’m looking forward to reading this. I haven’t read any historical fiction in a while.

A Street Cat Named Bob: How One Man and His Cat Found Hope on the Streets by James Bowen – I’ve really gotten into non-fiction this year, so I wanted to ask for a few non-fiction books for Christmas. I saw the film adaptation of this book advertised a month or two ago, so I thought I’d ask for the book. I know a bit about the story, and it sounds amazing. Think I’ll be reading this one very soon.

The Little Book of Feminism by Harriet Dyer – I’ve read quite a few pieces of non-fiction feminist writing this year, and I’ve really enjoyed the ones that I’ve read. So I was really pleased that my friend had bought me this. I read it in one sitting, but it’ll be nice to flick through in the future too.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – One of my favourite Christmas films is The Muppet’s Christmas Carol, but I’ve never read the book, so I asked for it this Christmas. I finished it yesterday and really enjoyed it! I can see myself reading it every Christmas.

The Color Purple by Alice Walker – I don’t know much about this book, other than that it revolves around a young black girl in the South in 1930’s America, but I’ve heard really good things about it.

Eat, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss – Now this book I’d never even heard of. It’s a book all about grammar. My mam thought it would be useful for me for uni, as my cousin said that her husband found it really helpful during his PhD.

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – I saw the film adaptation when it first came out when I was about 11/12, and I can’t remember it at all. But I’ve heard really good things about the book, and it sounds like something I would enjoy. Really looking forward to this one!

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safron Foer – Another book I’ve heard great things about. I’m pretty sure this centers around a young boy with either Asperger’s or autism, who loses his dad in 9/11.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys – Another historical fiction I’m really looking forward too. I actually decided to ask for this because I really want to read Ruta Sepetys’ other book, Salt to the Sea. I’ve heard so many people rave about that book, but then I read somewhere that it’s better to read Between Shades of Gray first.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou – I didn’t actually realise this book was non-fiction until I received it, which actually makes me more keen to read it. This is the memoir of Maya Angelou, and tells of her experience growing up as a black woman in 1930’s America. Is sounds quite similar to The Color Purple, but obviously a true story. I’m looking forward to reading both and comparing the two.

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo – Last Christmas, my mam bought me tickets to see Les Mis in London, and I absolutely loved it. So this summer, I read the book and loved it. It’s definately one of my favourite books. So my mam bought me the Penguin Classics Deluxe edition of the novel, and it’s stunning.

I don’t think I’ll be reading Les Mis again in 2017, as it’s around 1200 pages, but I know I’ll treasure this book forever, and will definately be re-reading it in the next few years.

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – I’ve been meaning to read this for so many years, but never gotten around to it, so I’m so pleased that I finally have a copy.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell – I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell earlier this year, and I really enjoyed it. I knew I wanted to read another on of her books, and Eleanor and Park sounded right up my street.

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher – I’m pretty sure I heard about this on Jen Campbell’s YouTube channel. I think it was mentioned in her ‘Be a Good Human’ book tag video (you can watch the video here). The plot sounded intriguing, and definately very current. It’s about a young boy whose sister is killed in a terrorist attack, and the effect on his family. As a result, his father becomes racist. Really looking forward to reading this one.

Boys Don’t Cry by Malorie Blackman – I saw this recommended in Waterstones a few months back. It’s about a teenage boy who’s ex-girlfriend turns up on his doorstep with their baby that he did not know about, leaves it with him, and doesn’t come back. A really interesting premise; really looking forward to this one.

So those are all of the books I got for Christmas! I can’t wait to read them all. If you’ve read any of them, I’d love to hear your thoughts, as I’m trying to decide which books to read first. I’d also love to hear if you got any books for Christmas.

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas, and that you have a happy new year! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Christmas Book Haul

Leave a Reply

