January Wrap-Up

I’ve said in my last few blog posts that I was going to try and post every week, but it hasn’t gone well so far! I’ve only written two posts this year, but I’m determined to get back to blogging. I know that we’re nearly half way through February (can you believe that?!), but I still thought I’d write up my January wrap-up. I managed to read 7 books, which means I’m ahead of my Goodreads goal, which is to read 50 books in 2017.The majority of the books I read were re-reads, and most were for uni, but the other books that I read I really enjoyed.ย I would have liked to have read a few more books that weren’t for uni, but I just didn’t have the time.

I re-read four plays at the beginning of the month, as I had my drama exam, and we were recommended to re-read all of the texts. The plays I re-read were:

  • Oedipus Rex by Sophocles
    My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars
    I wrote about this play very recently in my September wrap-up. If you want to read my thoughts on this play, you can read them here, as my opinion didn’t really change. I did, however, drop my rating from 4 stars.
  • Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe
    My Goodreads rating – 3 out of 5 stars
    I wouldn’t say I enjoyed reading this one, but quite enjoyed studying it. It’s about a man who sells his soul to the devil in exhange for power, and explores religion, fate and free will.
  • Measure for Measure by William Shakespeare
    My Goodreads rating – 2 out of stars
    Really didn’t enjoy this one. I have enjoyed Shakespeare before, but this was the first of his comedies I read, but I just didn’t enjoy it at all.
  • The Rover by Aphra Behn
    My Goodreads rating – 1 out of 5 stars
    Absolutely hated this one. The first scene was brilliant, and it was quite a revolutionary play, with Behn being one of the onlyย female playwrights of her time, but the rest of it just went downhill.

Because I was busy with revising for my exam and essay writing, I only read two books that weren’t for uni. I read:

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
    My Goodreads rating – 5 out of 5 stars
    This one is one of my favourites of the series, both the film and the book. Since I was doing uni work through most of January and December, I decided to read Harry Potter to give me a break from it. It was so nice to read it over Christmas/New Year, as I think Goblet of Fire is one of the most festive of them all, with the Yule Ball scene.
  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
    My Goodreads rating – 4 out of 5 stars
    My full review
    I had wanted to read this one for a while, as I saw the film when I was about twelve, and found it really powerful. Set during the second world war, the story is narrated by a nineย year old boy living who has moved from Berlin with his family for his father’s work. He doesn’t know why they’ve moved, but knows that his father’s work is important for the country and that the ‘Fury’ has big plans for his father. It’s such a devastating story, but brilliant.

Then the last book I read in January was for uni, another play. I read:

  • Mrs Warren’s Profession by Bernard Shaw
    My Goodreads Rating – 3 out of 5 stars
    This was probably my favourite play I’ve read so far for my drama module. Set during Victorian England, it’s a play that examines prostitution, and society’s opinions of it. I didn’t particularly like any of the characters, but I loved Shaw’s commentary on prostitution.

So that’s everything I read in January! Let me know what you read in January, and if you’re read any of these books! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

